Daily Archives: October 16, 2012

Season’s End

I’m home. And oh, WordPress, how I’ve missed you! I’ve been away for a full three months, most of which was spent in the Nevada desert, working for Burning Man. It’s the end of the season and more than just the end of summer. Those months in the middle of nowhere are always a life-changing experience, a time to confront all my bullshit to an uncomfortable degree, and this year was no different.

I feel like I have so much catching up to do that I won’t be able to do it. I “write” in my head all the time and it’s been ages since I put anything down on paper. Er, on the interwebz, that is. I spin such beautiful bullshit in my mind and when I find myself in front of a keyboard, those elegant words elude me. Sometimes I just feel like everything has been said. And written. If not by me, then by someone far more talented. I discourage myself before I’ve even begun. How to reprogram one’s mind?

Anyway, I wanted to say hello to those of you who are still out there…let you know I’ve come out the other side, yet again, and am ready to get back to the work of being a writer. I have a few projects to noodle and an intention to be more disciplined. We’ll see how it goes.

In the meantime, have a look at the controlled insanity that were my months in the desert: https://www.facebook.com/editrix.abby/photos_albums
Any of the DPW (pre, post or Playa Restoration) are indicative; the actual Burning Man photos, slightly less so.