Good Days, Bad Days

My IndieGoGo campaign has been live for almost a full week. It has inspired over $8,000 of excitement in my friends. This is staggering and has brought me more joy than I ever imagined possible. I’ve been astounded by the far-reaching support of my extended community.

This process, however, will have its ups and downs. The weeks and weeks and WEEKS I waited for the lawyers to do their lawyerly thing were excruciating. I wasted hundreds of hours trying to distract myself with Sudoku and Set (and OKCupid and Tinder). I’m currently waiting for the SLA to approve me. My architect is still working on the plans, which are only for cosmetic changes, but will need to be approved by the Department of Buildings. I’ve shelled out checks to so many people for amorphous jobs like “expediting” and “consulting” and even for just disconnecting the beer gas lines. ($500. Cash.) I gotta say, by the time this bar is open I will be swingin’ some balls of tungsten steel. Seriously.

The other day I was so elated by the cash coming into the campaign that receiving the news that my AC/Heating would cost almost three times what I’d budgeted barely even registered on my panic meter. But yesterday, between seeing the state of the mysterious hole in the floor and witnessing my architect’s sober adhesion to strict guidelines, I almost lost it. I am doing my best to be zen. And it is requiring more intestinal fortitude than I’ve ever mustered in my life. I am tapping into strength I never knew I possessed. Past me would’ve dissolved into a puddle of tears upon hearing some of this shit. She would’ve folded her cards and stepped away from the table. But present me doesn’t have that option. All I can do is soldier on. The belief in my project — and in me — is helping me make the success of the bar a self-fulfilling prophecy. If so many people believe in Lucky, I’d better too! Onward!

One response to “Good Days, Bad Days

  1. Pingback: Ticking Time and Trolls | Welcome to My Words!

Leave a Reply

