My First Week at the Office

I know! It’s been a while! In the days (and days and days) since I got home from the desert I hooked up with Tower Brokerage, who helped me find the space I decided on. They recommended a lawyer and…more days went by. Even though I’d decided on the space before I left for Christmas in Paris, the lawyers dragged things along. And even longer. My lawyer brought on his colleague and they dragged things along together. Then the first guy got his panties in a wad because the seller’s real estate broker was being “too aggressive.” He threatened to “walk away.” I kinda couldn’t believe a professional would actually whine about taking his marbles and going home. Fortunately, my broker talked him back from the brink and things progressed along…and longer still. But, finally, a week ago tonight, I sat down with the seller, the landlady and the brokers (and not one lawyer, harrumph!) and we signed a bunch of papers. I’m not a bar owner quite yet; my ownership is contingent upon SLA approval, as is my 10-year lease. But papers have been signed. And I HAVE KEYS!

I’ve been posting about it on Twitter/Facebook/Instagram. Here’s a bit of the photographic evidence, with the accompanying captions:

12742834_10153243276456364_4576727347032405359_nMy big smile of excitement and abject horror. — at Tower Brokerage.

safe_image-1.php
My first day at the office!

12779114_10153250387326364_3713099626223968893_o.jpgWarming up the space and finishing up all the booze!

12771698_10153253546181364_901996422519706381_o.jpg
Cleaning out the basement with Nick & Andy.

12747948_10153253546176364_1385647046552363565_o.jpg
Found a fossilized rat and his very alive descendent.

So, having finally signed the (preliminary) papers, I’ve was able to get to work! Andy and Nick helped me clean out the basement. What a disaster. I met with my architect and contractor and hung out with a friend who did such a great job designing his bar that I’m hoping he’ll help me with mine. I’ve been on the phone with all the previous owner’s vendors: bar and liquor distributors, ice machine and cable providers, soda and gas line people, all of them.

I even had my first “crisis”: I’d gone to the bank and had the teller transfer money from one account to another so I could write checks to my new landlady at that big paperwork signing. On an almost-midnight trip out to buy stuff to make bitters (more on that in another post) my debit card didn’t work. I called customer service and found out I was thousands of dollars in the red; the teller had transferred the money into the wrong account. Gulp. That meant the checks I’d written to the landlady would be bouncing. I screamed on the phone for a while and then dragged my ass out of bed at 9am the next morning to take care of it at the local bank branch. There were four people helping me, along with the woman I had on the phone from customer service, and together they managed to fix it. Phew, that was a close one!

I also had a bunch of friends come by to hang out and “warm up” the space. And consume the leftover alcohol. It was an unofficial pre-demolition party. And it was wonderful! I haven’t been sleeping much because I’m so excited and nervous and wish it could all happen at once! All my friends have been so supportive! And curious! I’ve been telling everyone that there will be more news coming up as it happens. Heather asked if I’d be blogging about it all and, well, here I am. Every day posts are probably unrealistic but I’ll update you at least once a week. Keep an eye out here for more fun stuff!

One response to “My First Week at the Office

  1. Regarding attorneys, Dick the Butcher says, “The first thing we do, let’s kill all the lawyers” 😉

Leave a Reply

