You Spin My Right Round, Baby…

I know a lot of DJs. From my years working in nightclubs, going to nightclubs, and participating in Burning Man and all its related events, I’ve met many people who make people dance with their music. I know that with all the technology we have now, “everyone’s a DJ.” But orchestrating a good time for a roomful of people — either a dozen or a thousand — is a true art form. I’ve watched when it hasn’t worked and it’s a very sad sight indeed. Ugh. Nothing’s worse than witnessing a DJ clear a dance floor. You won’t see that happen to any of my friends! Here’s a semi-exhaustive list. (Oh. And I’ve been failing slightly lately with where I actually met people so I’m not going to give too much, if any, backstory on these folks.)

vinyl-record-vector-free-download_23-2147492112.jpg

Johnny Dynell
He’s been Chi Chi Valenti‘s partner and co-producer of many events since I met him. He’s probably the most “famous” DJ I know. (Which reminds me of the funny sign that was on the bulletin board in the Mother office: THANX GOD I’M A VIP! Hah!) He spins everywhere from Fire Island to Cannes, gets hired for Elton John’s Oscar Party and is busy just about every night of the week. But I know him best for being behind the decks at Jackie 60 and all subsequent Mother productions.

DJ Althea Loveless
Still, to this day, the maker of the absolute best ambient theme mix CDs. Like a soundtrack to a mood. A set decorator for an idea. Difficult to describe.

Julie Covello aka DJ Shakey
I met Julie when she was DJing one of The Baroness’s bashes and was surprised it was her first fetish event. She totally got it. Since then I’ve heard her at all kinds of different parties. She gets all them, too. Plus she puts together a great clothing swap!

Douggie Style
I met Douggie when he first moved to NYC. We were doing “The Bunny Hop,” a SantaCon-type thing at Easter time. I was being bunny-esque but Douggie was being an evil clown. I wound up with grease paint on my ass and we’ve been friends ever since! He spins at all the fundraisers and on-playa at Disorient.

Sammy Jo
We used to work the door at Mother together. Since then he’s traveled with Scissor Sisters and DJs all kinds of fabulous parties, big and small, including our annual Halloween fete, Ghostlight.

Xris Smack
I met Xris in the early ’90s and went to his very first SMack! party. He’s about to celebrate his 20th anniversary. Wow. He’s been DJing some of the Kostume Kult parties recently. Worlds colliding. He’s also a producer and sound engineer.

Michael T.
I loved Kitsch Inn, which was my party, and Motherfucker, which wasn’t. Both may be over but back in the day, their dance floors were kept moving by the ever glamorous Michael T. He’s still spinning, both on the decks: Beauty Bar, David Barton’s Gym and the newest underground sensation Berlin; and onstage: Bowie Ball,  and Oh You Pretty Things!

Erwin Ozoa
Erwino is not only one of our DPW medics, he’s also an amazing DJ. He’s spun for our Shitshow Sundays, keeping us dancing (and screaming along) for over 24 hours. On one of our Mutiny days, he dragged his entire DJ rig out to Frog Pond and, I swear, was inside our collective heads, playing an incredibly eclectic mix. Masterful!

Ezra Li Eismont
Ezra, aka Old Man Gravyfoot, is the man behind the machine at all the most ridiculous DPW parties. He spins Yacht Rock and super cheesy 70s shit and we all sing along. It’s a beautiful thing. On his Chickenfish radio show, you might hear the “irritainment of meltdown music, obscure remixes of  or a full day of holiday classics in middle of summer. He is primarily a visual artist and deserves a whole separate listing for that. Stay tuned. Heh. See what I did there?

$mall ¢hange
Jim has been spinning the underground gigs forever, notably No Parking On the Dance Floor and Rubulad.

DieJ! Mars
Mars used to spin for Gomorrah. He was always so easy to work with. Today he lives in LA and is making movies!

Beenjammin’
Ben has been behind the decks at all kinds of cool fundraiser ’cause he can always be counted on. And he’s an amazing treehouse architect!

Orion
Another count on-able dude who will show up to support your cause!

John Margulies
Originator of Hobotech, most recently spinning at Coachella. Super fun guy who was always working the burner bashes before he moved west.

Load Rezenhand
Aldo was one of our Click + Drag DJs.

There are more.
Friar Tuck
Arrow Chrome
Tim The Enchanter Schumacher
Illexandra
Jeff-O
Morgan
Shalin
Ian Fford
And probably even still more.  My apologies if I left you off this list or didn’t “flesh out” your listing. It got a little overwhelming.

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “You Spin My Right Round, Baby…

  1. Pingback: Welcome to My Words!

  2. Pingback: Multi-Talented | Welcome to My Words!

Leave a Reply

