Burlesque Beauties: Jo “Boobs” Weldon, Amber Ray and Darlinda Just Darlinda

How ’bout a little bit of skin to take our minds off the global insanity?

51eNWbv8FpL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Jo Weldon, aka Jo Boobs, and I met so long ago I’m not even sure where. Since then she has created The New York School of Burlesque, where she serves as the Headmistress, and published “The Burlesque Handbook.” She was a supporter of my fanzine, came to my club nights and was always a dependable booking. Even with her ascension to one of the world’s top burlesque dancers, she hasn’t changed a bit. She’s still got it all: boobs, brains, a biting wit and shapely legs that look great peeking out from the slit of a beaded gown.

bout_fhdpk02bAnother burlesque performer who I’ve known since almost her very beginning (if not the very) is Amber Ray, “professional sensationalist.” She’s danced for me at about a dozen different events and is always a joy to have backstage. Nowadays she travels the globe, bumping and grinding in the finest nightclubs. A truly class act, Amber Ray also creates many (if not all) of her own costumes. You can order up a fabulous Vegas showgirl headpiece or one of her bejeweled flowers from her side business, Amber Ray Accoutrements.

368010519_b281b00e96Darling Just Darlinda, “mastermind of bizarre extravaganza,” is the third in my triumvirate of titillation. I’ve known her forever too and I think she fold me I booked her for her first performance. With a slight twist of performance art to her routines, Darlinda veers off the classic path with a more “alternative, narrative, humorous, political, queer, and quirky” take on burlesque. (Description from the New York School of Burlesque class listing.)

All three of these ladies are warm and wonderful and I wish I saw them more often!

Leave a Reply

