Final Thoughts on 2012’s Final Day

As 2012 winds down, it’s an obvious time to reflect. Many of my friends have had a really horrible year, filled with death and disappointment. I’ve been fortunate; it seemed that most things went the way I wanted them to. I always had enough money in my pocket, friends to enjoy and creativity to keep me inspired. I can only hope that 2013 goes as well, if not better!

I plan to spend tonight as I spent last New Year’s Eve: meditating at Spirit Rock and making an early night. It was a great way to usher in the new year and completely avoid the overhyped party, overpriced everything scene. This time Jamye is joining me so at least I’ll know one person! Tomorrow we’ll be heading to Space Cowboys‘ Breakfast of Champions in San Francisco for some daytime ravey goodness and lots of sparkly friends.

Anyway, as for more of that reflection:

Aside from the obvious (working for Burning Man, bartending at the fabulously muggle-proof Double Down Saloon), I entertained myself by making many magical tiaras and crowns, not only for myself but custom commissions for friends. Personally, I believe everyone should have as many tiaras as possible, especially if they light up!

According to WordPress’s little year-end report, my blog had 22,000 views. That seems like a lot! I use this forum as both a diary of sorts and an emotional outlet, a way to vent about things that delight or disturb me. Dating has been, to say the least, a horror show, and I’ve chosen to air my many frustrations — as well as hopes and fears — here. Based on the feedback, it has both entertained and irritated people. Surprisingly, I’ve been criticized for my opinions. Those folks can go to hell, quite frankly. Ain’t none of us here to please anyone but ourselves.

My “detractors” might be disappointed to hear that over the past year I have actually been on a few dates with guys I enjoyed and who seemed to enjoy me. I don’t blog about dates that go well for two reasons, most obviously because I don’t want to put any sort of kibosh on a (possibly) budding relationship. But also because positive experiences are nowhere near as hilarious. Or, apparently, aggravating, for those who believe I’m a “maneater.” (Which I would never take as an insult anyway! Heh.) Most people who know me well would probably agree. Including the men with whom I’ve had those positive experiences. Time spent with one man in particular has been a very positive experience indeed! I’d be clearing out closet space for him if he didn’t live 3000 miles away. Sigh. Forging ahead!

Looking forward to 2013, I’ll take a tip from a friend and state my “intentions”: I’ll be writing more here, of course, and on my other, related blogs. I’d like to finally self-publish the book or two I’ve been mulling about. I’ve registered to take a millinery course at FIT, hope to visit friends in Denver and will be joining my sister and her kids for a vacation in Mexico. There will be more Double Down and DPW and the usual “side jobs,” as well. Finding a satisfying relationship would certainly be lovely but I hate setting goals for myself that I’m only half responsible for realizing. I’ll just say that being more realistic might be an admirable goal, one that I can achieve alone.

Other than all that, I make no ridiculous New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t need to lose weight or exercise more or any of those things that people promise themselves they’ll do and then beat themselves up a year later for not doing. Besides, “intentions” sound so much more actionable than “resolutions.”  Tune in 365 days from today to see just how well I’ve done. And on that note, HAPPY NEW YEAR! I hope you all create a spectacular 2013 for yourselves!

Leave a Reply

