Today Was a Perfect Day

I woke up without a hangover, since after work last night, instead of getting drunk I went out for dinner with a couple of friends. I went to bed early, in hopes of staving off this almost-cold, which meant I woke up early! Hangoverless! Huzzah!

I had my coffee and cocoa, then went up to the roof for some sunshine. After sufficient rayage, I worked out for a while — the full workout, not a hurried one. I took a leisurely shower and get my Janis Joplin drag on for LOW LIFE 6: East Village Others, the finale of the HOWL Festival. I slurped on a spicy Bloody Mary at Niagra and peeked into one of the sparkliest dressing rooms I’ve ever seen.

The performances were properly trippy, accompanied by late arrivals, a power failure and a few passing showers. But it was also completely dazzling! Lame and leather, sequins and glitter, feathers and enough false eyelashes for the cast of Priscilla! I got to see a few familiar faces in the audience before dining al fresco with a friend, followed by a spiked milkshake at Sidewalk. I got the S’mores one: marshmallow vodka, chocolate sauce, vanilla ice cream and a cup rimmed with graham cracker crumbs. YUM!

I came home to my adorable dog and decided I’d give my mom a call. Bad idea. My perfect day wound up spoiled upon hearing that my sister’s day was slightly less spectacular. Her husband was supposed to have the kids. He took them, and their dog, home. The dog was on medication, which no one remembered to give her. So she died. The husband calls to say something better has come up, can my sister take the kids. Needless to say, it was not exactly stellar. For any of them.

I am very, very fortunate. And grateful for my perfect day. But I’d like to add that with all the deaths of friends’ pets, wonderful animals who meant so very much to their humans, this really kinda ruined my perfect day. I think I’ll go to bed…

One response to “Today Was a Perfect Day

  1. Sending lots of love to those poor kids, because they are going to continue trying to love their daddy. Glad your day was stellar up to that point (stupid f*ker)

Leave a Reply

