Socially Awkward Loses His Shit

My recent blog post about my “Socially Awkward” ex-friend inspired an alarming number of responses from him:

January 30
1:45 Gmail: You should not have written about me.
2:03 Text: You should NOT have written about me.
2:48 Text: Please remove the blog post regarding me now.
3:25 Text: Please remove the posting about me immediately.
3:30 Text: Please remove the posting about me immediately. [Yes, twice.]
3:45 Text: Please remove the Blog posting about me immediately. [Yup, THREE times!]
3:50 OKCupid: Remove the blog posting about me immediately.
4:19 Text: Please remove the Blog posting about me immediately. [That’s four times!]
4:56 Text: Please remove the Blog posting about me immediately. [Okay, FIVE times!]
5:43 Text: I specifically requested that you not post anything about me on your blog several weeks ago. Please remove the Blog posting about me immediately. [Aaaaand we have SIX times! But counting gets silly when…]
6:00 Text: Your blog post is causing me harm. Please remove it immediately.
6:29 Text: Your blog post is causing me harm. Please remove it immediately.
6:56 Text: Your blog post is causing me harm. Please remove it immediately.
7:05 Text: Your blog post is causing me harm. Please remove it immediately.
7:12 Text: Your blog post is causing me harm. I asked you specifically not to post about me. Please remove it immediately.
10:24 Text: FWD: Your blog post is causing me harm. I asked you specifically not to post about me. Please remove it immediately.
January 31
6:59am Text: I had asked you not to blog about me, your blog is a violation of my trust among other things. I has already caused me harm. Please remove it immediately.
8:24am Text: Please remove your blog posting about me immediately.
9:21am Text: I do not want tobe the subject of your blog, I never have. Your blog post is causing me harm. Please remove it immediately.
12:57 Text: Please take your blog posting about me immediately [sic].
2:21 Text: Please delete your Blog post about me immediately.
5:44 Text: Please remove your blog post about me immediately.
10:52 Text: Please take down the post about me immediately.
11:48 Email: Please remove your blog post about me immediately.
February 1
6:58am Text: Remove the blog post about me immediately.
11:49am Text: Take down the blog post regarding me immediately.
10:37 Text: Take down the blog post about me immediately.
February 2
7:53am Text: Take the blog post about me down immediately.
4:23 Text: Please remove your blog post about me immediately.

I suppose the immediate question is, why write about him again? Won’t it just inflame things further? I’m betting it will. But if this blog is, first and foremost, about my experiences and adventures in dating, this example certainly fits. And if, secondarily, it serves to be a “What not to do” lesson, well, then this is also a perfect learning opportunity.
I often find myself asking, “Is this normal?” only to receive emphatic responses from my readers, letting me know that, no, as a matter of fact, what I’m experiencing is definitely not normal. And this, ladies and gentlemen, is not normal!
All the emails and texts in the world are not going to make me take down a post. This is an “all me” zone with a fairly modest number of readers. As of now, I’ve blocked him on OKCupid and Gmail. Unfortunately, I can’t block him from texting. So I can continue to laugh at him — and show my friends how crazy he is — with each new message.
His desperate bits and bytes flying at me have been disturbing for a number of reasons. 1.) If you’ve read our correspondence in the previous post, he only expressed concern about becoming a blog topic. He never specifically asked that I not blog about him. I told him not to push me. And he most definitely pushed.
2.) Anyone who has read my blog at all knows that everyone I meet is fair game. Dates most of all. After our initial date he immediately subscribed. Why he would expect to be exempt is beyond me. Especially when he has conducted himself like such a nutjob.
3.) I’m confused about his meaning when he says my blog post is “harming” him. In what way? And why? Does he believe that all of his insane texts and emails haven’t harmed me?
4.) Lastly, how is my blogging about him a violation of his trust? I never made him any promises. I haven’t mentioned his name, posted his photo or exposed any personal information. (Not that I have any. I  didn’t spend enough time with the guy to learn all that much.)
Of course, my mom, who watches all the crazy crime shows, says I should be concerned. I’m not. Based on how lost he got getting to our first date and his inability to find Double Down last week, even though I gave him the cross streets (“I don’t know what Houston & A means!”), I doubt he’d have much luck tracking me down. And if he did?
If this isn’t enough insanity for you, here’s an update on yet another nutjob. Remember my obsessed stalker? The guy I had to tell “I’M NOT ATTRACTED TO YOU!”? Well, he emailed me again. Twice:
I’m still an incouragable pest …. even after relating to your “I’M NOT ATTRACTED TO YOU” … msg ( yes I get hit on by yuck-y types too … ever go on POF ??)
Had to respond after reading this … 
editrixabbyAbby Ehmann
Asshole ISO “Take Charge” Woman http://wp.me/p19QaS-vd
Am I totally history for you or did you wonder that I might be > enough to come see you when u were bartending
Let’s have coffee …
ooh … theyre very careful here about script injections …
above should read:
Am I totally history for you or did you wonder that I might be { you fill in the blank } enough to come see you when u were bartending
I had to ask him:
Are you out of your fucking mind?
Just curious.
So is this guy even crazier than the other one? Is this kind of persistence considered romantic? Or is it lunacy? I went on a date last week with a man I saw for coffee in the fall of 2010. He’d been keeping up with me online since. He’s tall, smart, employed. Unfortunately, I’m just not sexually attracted to him. And I don’t think he’s interested in being friends. Were his occasional email check-ins instances of insanity? Or should I be flattered?
I’ve never met this Nerve Dating dude. Our entire “relationship” was in his imagination. He actually answered after I questioned his sanity. Twice!
that was a good fill in the blank phrase … just hard for me to believe that you see me as less interesting than some of the characters that you write about going out with ….
will probably be at 1st Saturday at Brookln Museum this weekend
Uh, yeah. The chances of me showing up at Brooklyn Museum’s First Saturday? Somewhere BELOW that proverbial snowball’s chance in HELL! Less interesting than…who? I hardly go out with anyone! Most of my horror stories are email-based. And why — or, excuse me, HOW — would I think this guy is interesting? I DON’T KNOW HIM! Sweetmotherofgawd. But on a more positive note? I went out on a date tonight and really enjoyed the guy! I can’t tell you how awesome it was to spend time with someone who isn’t out of his fuckin’ mind! At least not in a bad way…
4 responses to “Socially Awkward Loses His Shit

  1. Please take this blog post down about me immediately! 😉

  2. This is why I told tell people I have a blog outside of my photography blog. And why I only talk about the bat shit crazy ones and not the ones I think might actually result in something meaningful whether or be friendship or something more.

    But boy did he lose his shit. I don’t know what cell service provider you use, but you might be able to have his number blocked if it truly becomes an issue. Mine blocked an EX that began stalking me after he dumped me….yea…strange.

    • I’m so easily google-able I don’t think it would matter if I didn’t tell people. For him to expect NOT to be blogged about is what seems so crazy to me. Why would he be exempt? Anyway…Yes, will be calling my carrier today.

  3. OMG the insanity!!
    you could get a google voice number, to give those potential weirdos instead of your carrier number.
    google voice will send txts to your phone, but you can block numbers from it.
    http://www.google.com/googlevoice/about.html

Leave a Reply

