Excelling At…Social Interaction

Day 16, January 26
1. 20 minutes of meditating.
2. 90 minutes of working out.
3. Writing? I’m not sure. I don’t think so…
4. Gah. More droning.
5. Nope.
6. Socializing: Is this really a job? Or even an accomplishment? I’m beginning to think it’s more of an impediment. I dragged my ass out in the rain, all dressed up, to attend a networking event. Yeah, that one sponsored by Sparkology.com. Other than the satisfaction of telling the people running the site — one handsome Arian-looking (and sounding) young man and two skinny blonde 20-somethings — that young professionals don’t need another dating site and asking if the women were screened as well as the men or if they could just be strippers, the event was a waste of my (our?) time. The promoter introduced us to a few of his friends but only Karen spoke to anyone. The bar was so loud I had to shout to be heard, which is fine when you’re flirting and less so when you’re trying to have a conversation with a friend. From there I shlepped to the Delancey to see Hungry March Band. I’ve always hated that downstairs room, with its low ceilings and lousy acoustics. There were more people on the stage than in the audience. I left after the first set. Evidently more people showed up but…

So yeah, the evening was a waste of a nice outfit. And glitter eyeliner. Which is why I often opt to stay home. Or venture out looking less-than-glam. I keep telling myself “This might be the night/event/place/time I’ll meet someone.” Someone who’ll give me a job. Someone who’ll ask me out. Someone new to hang out with, even. It sure gets tough, time after time, to keep convincing myself. Fortunately, I’m not alone in this.

A friend called to rant and relate, cry and commiserate. It is this sort of social interaction that keeps me sane. Not just knowing that I’m not alone but being able to help. Or at least offer a sympathetic ear. We’re almost the same age (ancient!) and about the same height (gargantuan!) so we share many of the same problems: a scarcity of people who want to hire us, men who want (or are tall enough) to date us, how to cope with being such young “women of a certain age.” It ain’t easy! She is also doing the online dating thing and having just about as much luck. She decided to try the tactic many of the men use: sending out a few dozen flirts to up her response quotient. Mind you, I’m not a fan of those brief little blips but it seemed like a good idea. Here’s a response she received to a “wink”:

Geez, Louise,,,,(and yeah, more commas and dots)…………………….……………..and fuck it if you don’t like it……………….,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,…….. 
This is not the the 3D world, this is a dating site, and you clearly don’t know the extreme differences between the two…. 
And, BTW, I’m a many times over publised writer…………………..peeps in the know know, butt no way for you……………… [Yeah, I can tell what a talented “writer” this guy is by how well he spells! Obviously a gifted wordsmith.]
And know, I don’t give a flying fuck about what you think about anything….. 
Frankly, your face is so scary, I feel like I’m lookin””””” at the Addams Family or a horror movie from hell…..
So, with a wink and a NOT, get lost back into your grave…………………….….,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,….…..and do not DARE ever contact me again…..don’t need a nightmare about your scary face from hell…. and BTW two, I’ve been a pro photig for 30 years as well… and your pic tells twenty million too many words for me, and all about words and pics………………. seen, heard and wrote it all, butt ypu’re drom A beyond I’ve never imagined before………,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,maybe time to write a new story for th New Yorker, altough you would do better in a Roz Chast cartoon………….,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,…….
P.S. …….,,, are you Patty Hearst, or whomever the fuck her name was who sliced and diced for Charlie Manson…..??? … I thought she’d gone legit…….,,,,,,,,,,
Okay. Aside from the obvious bile behind this hideous little piece of correspondence, I’ve gotta ask: WHY on EARTH would anyone take THAT MUCH TIME and burn that many calories to be so mean? To a fucking STRANGER! To someone who is putting themselves out there, the same as this hateful fucking asshole. GAH! If the wink offended in any way, why not just ignore it? Was it necessary to be so nasty? I’m stunned. Anyway. Onward.
Day 17, January 27
1. 20 minutes of meditating. In bed. WHAT?
2. 30 minutes of working out.
3. Writing? I think I blogged…gah! I’m behind! I wrote this. It’s just taken me a few days to put it online…and catch up. Needless to say, even this appears to be more than I can handle!
4. There must’ve been some TV watching in there somewhere…
5. I didn’t bring up any boxes but I did tidy up and throw stuff away. That storage space is almost empty!
6. Socializing: I went to a hotel bar with a friend, all dressed up in an attempt to expand our horizons. From there we stopped for a drink with my cousin before heading to a friend’s book party, which was really fun. Total? About 7 hours. See? This is truly the only thing I excel at! Hah!
Leave a Reply

