Maintenance

As I notice what takes up my time, I weigh whether or not it is a worthwhile pursuit. Ticking off things on my “to do” list should be a priority over time-wasters. I’d have to say that, in addition to “home maintenance,” “self maintenance” is certainly an occasional necessity. I’ve never been a high-maintenance babe. I went through a phase back in the ’80s of getting my nails and hair done, but it didn’t last long. I don’t wear layers of makeup (unless I’m really getting into drag) and in general don’t go for a whole lot of the “upkeep” most women do. I used to EpiLady but ever since my little hair-ripper-outer crapped out, decades ago, I haven’t really dealt with the hair on my legs. (There isn’t much of it left, thanks to so many follicles being, uh, ripped out.) After my first three-month stint in the desert, I abandoned shaving my armpit hair as well. (Sorry if that’s TMI.) And I’ve always been a big fan of “’70s bush,” refusing to engage in any pubic primping. (Again, apologies about the TMI.) I don’t exfoliate or luxuriate or otherwise pamper myself much. What I’m trying to say is that I don’t spend a whole lot of time on my physical upkeep, beyond working out and (occasionally) showering. But today I took an hour out of my (not at all) busy day to dye my hair. Dicie gave me a big box of assorted red-head gels and chemicals; I chose the darkest in keeping with the season. And I am thrilled with the result! My last dye job came out a bit too dull — color-wise, not lack of luster! This new shade is definitely red! Looking at old photos over the holidays made me notice that my hair color had gotten a bit boring so now I’m back to bold!
Day 3: January 13
1. 20 minutes of meditating
2. 90 minutes of working out.
3. Some blogging…and an hour of proofreading my erotica collection book.
4. Again, managed to restrict myself to only HALF of my “TV Diet!”
5. Brought up and unpacked another box of books, did some shuffling of stuff.
6. Socializing: 4 hours of hanging out and suffering through some seriously horrible theater.
7. Personal upkeep: 1 hour of hair dying.
Leave a Reply

