No Pants December: Day 10

I was excited as hell for this year’s annual roaming of the red. So excited, in fact, that I spent the last week assembling a brand new ensemble and accessorizing like crazy. It turned into a pink and red extravaganza that some christened The Peppermint Queen. The outfit consisted of:

Photo © Ed Barnas. Reproduced with permission.

A red lace shirt underneath a pink lace shirt, both purchased at Joyce Leslie for $9.99 each. Nice!

Red satin hot pants purchased in the ’90s at Le Chateau. Nicer!

Red and white stripey tights that I’d spent hours dying fuschia, but since I didn’t know that Rit dye doesn’t work on synthetics, they came out pale pink and red. Sigh. But still effective!

Demonia red platform furry boots I spotted at a sample sale at my friend Paula’s Dumb Clothing shop back in 2005 or so.

A tiara-like headpiece I crafted out of Christmas balls and ornaments and a few ounces of glue-gun glue.

A red Mongolian lamb scarf that I’d treated myself to a few  years ago after losing a black one I’d bought for 10 bucks at a thrift store. Suffice it to say, the red one cost far more than the black one had…

And finally, the final piece of my look: a hot pink fake fur jacket from Trash and Vaudeville. I totally couldn’t afford it but…I also couldn’t live without it! It was just too perfect for the outfit! The piece came with corset-like black satin ribbon lacing up the back; I replaced the black satin with red and white candy cane ribbon from the Mecca of fashion and crafting, M&J Trimming.

Photo © Ed Barnas. Reproduced with permission.



It was just too perfect for the outfit! The piece came with corset-like black satin ribbon lacing up the back; I replaced the black satin with red and white candy cane ribbon from the Mecca of fashion and crafting, M&J Trimming. I had matching ribbon bows on my braids; gotta love that wired ribbon!

All my glue gunning paid off cause the fabulous Bill Cunningham snapped a few shots of me!

I carried a red patent leather bag filled with peppermint candies (and everything else I needed), had a pair of red gloves that wound up in that bag for most of the day and my most inspired accessory: a bottle of peppermint spray!

Peppermint Spray photo by Teague Clements

I put Santa holiday wrapping around a plain spray bottle, then filled it with a mixture of peppermint schnapps and vanilla vodka, tinged a festive green with food coloring.

Ed Barnas Photography

Visit my friend Amber’s NO PANTS 2011 blog.

One response to “No Pants December: Day 10

  1. Pingback: SantaCon 2011 | Welcome to My Words!

Leave a Reply

