0% Match…Indeed!

Against my better judgement, I’m back on OkCupid. It was mostly to stay in touch with the interesting South Dakotan. I haven’t received many emails since  re-joining but there’s been a steady stream of gentlemen visiting my profile. Today I made the mistake of emailing a pleasant looking gentleman. He’d checked me out in the past and hadn’t yet filled out his profile, which makes him a 0%, 0%, 0% match. But I reached out anyway. Stupidity ensued:

So! You still haven’t filled out your profile…but I know you’ve been on here a while. Why the reluctance? Interested enough to get coffee? Or a beer?
Don’t be shy!
Abby

Me…
Resourceful, warm, normal, yes-have a job, intelligent (if I can be the judge), giving, can fix anything/very handy, articulate, little baggage, independent, world’s second greatest lover, prefer a simple life, environmentally aware, progressive leanings PERSISTENT, a Westchester boy who moved to Manhattan, not a foodie, PROGRESSIVE leanings. [I guess he has progressive leanings!]

Okay!
Glad to hear you’re not a foodie. Such know-it-alls! I enjoy a good corn dog on occasion!
Soooo….What are you up to tomorrow night? There’s a fun event on Orchard St. that I’ll be attending. Am I being too forward? This site has been (mostly) a disappointment as far as romance goes so at this point I’m happy to meet like-minded folks and try friendship first!
Let me know if you’d be up for tomorrow night or something some other time!
Abby

Are you ALSO a love makin fool?

Uh, only when I’m in love, I guess…

Are you in love w/me? Cuz if you are….have I got a plan for you!!!!

Hmm, I had merely suggested getting a beer or coffee. Not quite sure why you chose to introduce the love making topic. And no, I’m not in love with you.

Bummer…

Is it just me or was that a peculiar exchange? What a shame, cause he had a nice smile…I’m still holding out hope for The Artist….He sent me this email last night:

Hey beautiful.
We’ll see!
One response to “0% Match…Indeed!

  1. Just Passing By

    I don’t see the exchange as all that peculiar. Rather I think he was attempting to use humor in a befuddled attempt to catch up to you in exclamation points. Oh, whoops. I mean exclamation points!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What do I mean? Go back and look at the syntax. The fact that you got someone who has not even filled out their profile to write anything at all is a pure miracle. Clearly you are a wordie!

Leave a Reply

