Happy Birthday to Me!

Today is my 52nd birthday. It’s a pretty happy one, even though my life is missing a few key ingredients. It has been just over a year since I last had sex. That makes it the longest I’ve ever gone without sex since I lost my virginity. Ack. This afternoon I’ll be on my way out of town to go camping. Should be a humid, buggy, drunk and entertaining weekend with the chances of getting laid somewhere below zero. Sigh.

At some point I’m gonna need to get back on the horse and ride that motherfucker. Believe me, it can’t happen a moment too soon! I’m either gonna have to be blackout drunk, madly in love or just at my wit’s end. Not sure which is more likely to happen first. Um, okay, the likelihood of my being blackout drunk first is probably the highest. Like, this weekend. Even though there won’t be anyone to “get back on and ride.” Hah! Anyway…

Facebook and email make birthdays more fun. I’m receiving wishes from friends, acquaintances, people I haven’t seen in years. Even from Jet Blue and my insurance agent are sending me greetings! I was offered a free Tarot reading from Tarot.com and it was surprisingly insightful!

My “challenges/opportunity card says:

It is possible that you have a hero latent inside you who is being called forth by current circumstances. If that is the case, don’t resist; accept the invitation. It’s not often that we get a ready-made opportunity to be gallant. It’s to everyone’s benefit that you think of yourself as a person who is able and willing to make a positive difference.

My “question” was about money/career…Hmm, in reference to my preference for volunterring…maybe I’ll come back in October and work for some big non-profit. We’ll see!

The “advice” card read:

Fundamental change is imminent. The positive benefits you gain during this period could last a long time.
The card in the Advice position suggests a course of action which will harmonize what you want with what is currently possible. 
The Wheel of Fortune in this position indicates a period of sweeping changes. It could come in the form of a physical move, a spiritual awakening or dramatically changing social patterns. The placement of this card is an encouraging sign. The season is right for transformation. 
It is now safe. You are watched over and protected as you go round and round the Wheel. You will learn a lot. You will also learn it quickly, and what you absorb will benefit you for a long time to come.

And check out my “long-term potential” card! It sounds awesome!

You have no choice but to ride the currents that are about to sweep you away.
The card in the Long-term Potential position points to unknowns still taking shape. It is the “wild card” yet to be played. 
With the Moon in this position, there is a potential for an absolutely unpredictable situation. This is a time of unstable currents and weather patterns, record tides and eclipses, strange storms. Let go of goal setting for now. 
The adventure and experience before you are truly open ended. It will cleanse you of the wounds from the outside world, the world of culture, time and space, and leave you utterly wide open to the great mystery. You are driven toward this depth of insight by a force beyond comfort, beyond ego. Here is where you find out what you are made of. You can master this realm and go on to help others get over their fear and misunderstanding

For now, I’m headed to lunch with my sister, my cousin, my aunt and my oldest friend in New York. Thank you to everyone who has sent me happy birthday wishes! You know how much I appreciate it! Mwah!

One response to “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Happy birthday! I hope it’s lovely.

Leave a Reply

