Must Love Dogs

In my flu-induced stupor I’ve been watching bad TV for endless hours. It isn’t easy to avoid  seriously bad programming when you don’t have cable. I’m surprised I haven’t wound up with nothing but informercials. Weekends mean movies, which is an improvement over  Everybody Loves Raymond. So yesterday, sweating through another fever, I found myself watching Must Love Dogs. I felt fortunate for a film I’d never seen before and to catch it in its entirety, as opposed to half-way while flipping through channels. Have you seen it? The romantic comedy stars Diane Lane and John Cusak, and IMDB gives this synopsis: “A forty-something preschool teacher looks to the personals for a change of pace and a relationship, with hilarious results.”

The movie was made in 2005 and one might assume many strides have been made in online dating since then. But one would be wrong. While I wouldn’t exactly say the movie was nearly as hilarious as some of my online dating experiences, at least the amusing predicaments posed by finding strangers in the ether certainly are one thing that won’t ever change.

I was surprised by how much I identified with the Diane Lane character. I know, I know! I shouldn’t have been surprised one bit! It’s not a stretch: a woman turns to the internet to find love! I’d be happy to find someone I can tolerate a meal with! Even more surprising was my reaction to the ending: I burst into tears! I’m not sure if that was a true indication of my emotional fragility or the severity of my flu! In either case, it caught me quite off guard. I’ve gotta get a grip.

And in further news of not having a grip: Today I received an email from the ex that reduced me to tears. I sure wish I could afford a therapist…

3 responses to “Must Love Dogs

  1. big hugs to you. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Pingback: You’ve Got Cock! | Welcome to My Words!

  3. Pingback: You’ve Got Cock! | WTF, Cupid?

Leave a Reply

