Unpaid? Really? Really. Totally Discouraging…

I am finding it close to impossible to motivate myself…to do, well, anything. Since I returned from my travels, I’ve managed to dress up and party but not much else. I was “hired” by a web site to do part-time web production 10 hours per week at a less-than-minimum-wage of $7 per hour. Thus far this week I have completed a grand total of zero hours of work. They haven’t sent me any. I am able to compose brilliant prose about my adventures but I have yet to actually sit down and type it out. Spinning bullshit in my head is just so much…easier! And seeking more (or more gainful…or more HOURS of) employment is even MORE discouraging. Check out this ad from Craigslist:

Joonbug.com is a premiere lifestyle publication catering to one million readers a month. I am looking to immediately fill the position of fashion editor.
You must be able to work from our office 3 days a week from 10-5. Editorial experience is preferred.

Requirements:
-outstanding writing and editing skills (grammar, syntax)
-ability to manage a team of remote writers
-ability to meet tight deadlines and manage time effectively
-team player AND self-starter
-positive attitude
-genuine interest and passion for fashion

Please note that although this position is unpaid, it is a great opportunity to gain exposure in the field and create contacts.

You must be able to start the week of March 28. Interview schedule is as follows:
Thursday, March 17 5:00 p.m.
Friday, March 18 5:00 p.m.
Monday March 21 5:00 p.m.

A MILLION readers per month? And you can’t PAY? Look at the schedule! Look at the requirements! Look at the fucking DEMANDS! And they can’t even PAY? Whatthemotherfuck? I am at a loss. If even huge, profitable web sites aren’t paying their editors, what hope do I have? Here’s what I wrote in their online application:

“You have got some fucking nerve. Your site has HOW many million readers? And you are paying WHAT? Oh yeah, NOTHING! How much are YOU making? Why should anyone work for NOTHING? Can you pay rent with NOTHING? With “eyeballs” or “experience” or “contacts”?! NO YOU CAN’T! Fuck you and your shitty web site and all the people who are getting paid to hire SLAVES!”

Hah! That made me feel better! Of course, it doesn’t get me any closer to a paycheck… Should I go to nursing school or something? Fuck I wish I could force myself to fall in love with some wrinkly old rich dude. FUCK!

Okay, rather than actually buckling down and back-blogging, I’m gonna soak up The View and then go drink some green beer. Cause, ya know, any excuse to glue more rhinestones on my face! Erin go fuck yourself!

One response to “Unpaid? Really? Really. Totally Discouraging…

Leave a Reply

