The Poor Relation

Tonight I went to the movies. In a Maserati. I’m sleeping in a house that’s being rented for $20,000 a month. Dinner conversation consisted of multi-generational trust funds and the Facebook COO.

My sister married a millionaire. And now she’s divorcing him. Or he, her. Whatever the configuration, it’s California and she’s entitled to 50%. Of everything. And that’s a lot.

To put things into perspective, the most I’ve ever made was $40,000 a year and that was from a friend of my sister’s. I lived on that 40k for two-and-a-half years. My life may look glamorous but only when compared with all the regular people I know. This world my sister lives in might as well be Mars.

Filed from my gizmo because even in a house that costs 20k a month to rent and has five wifi boosters, I still can’t get a connection in my fancy ass room.

Leave a Reply

