Ya Gotta Be In It to Win It!

There are less than three hours left for me to spin my multi-millionaire fantasies! The MegaMillions Lottery is up to $355 million today and it’s all over the news. I’m not usually much of a gambler but when the stakes are this high and it’s only a dollar to be “in it,” it’s hard to resist.

There’s a lottery joint almost across the street from my apartment, so buying the tickets is temptingly convenient, too. So tonight, after a series of errands that featured finding out there will be no penalty when our mortgage is paid off, getting two bottles of vitamins for the price of one, purchasing a pair of “jeggings” (which my friends and I have been blathering about on Facebook all day long) for only $9.99, picking up the crazy long black goth/industrial TrippNYC skirt at Trash & Vaudeville that I’ve had my eye on while it went from $65 to $40 to $19, plus paying a few bills, I stopped in to stand and line for my “dollar and a dream.” It wasn’t a long line ’cause it isn’t a huge place; it’s only reason for being is to sell lottery tickets and those scratch and win cards. I played three “quick picks” and two tickets with lucky numbers and family birthdays; the news stories said there’s no “edge” playing one or the other so I did both, as I always do. And the odds don’t change when thousands more people play; they’re consistently 176 million to one or some such, based on the number of balls and the number of…numbers. I don’t need to understand it; I just gotta be IN it! To WIN it!

The news stories also talk about what to do when (if) you win: change your phone number and call a money manager! I can honestly say that I’m completely prepared. My sister is married to (and soon to be divorced from) a millionaire. She has a money manager and I’ve seen first-hand how to spend more money than you know what to do with. It’s pretty easy!

The folks interviewed on TV all have their pie-in-the-sky plans: moving to the mountains, going on vacations, buying a bigger house. I love where I live, so I don’t think I’d move, though I might buy the apartment next door and knock down a wall for a bigger living room. And I could sure use an update on my kitchen. I prefer shopping for bargains than cost-is-no-object and think people who spend $3,000 on a handbag are out of their fucking minds. I’ve already traveled almost everyone I’ve wanted to see and in February I’ll be going on safari to Africa even without winning the lottery. I don’t need a car and I have so much jewelry that I couldn’t wear it all if I changed it every day.

I’m sure I could find a few things to spend my millions on. But mostly it would buy me the lifestyle to which I’ve already become accustomed. I’d love to never have to work again, visit my friends wherever they may be, continue tippy-tapping on this keyboard even if I don’t make a dime. And, man, would I throw a fuckin’ party!

Okay, so we’re down to less than three hours now. I’m gonna spend that time spending my millions…in my mind.

Leave a Reply

