Learning My “Life Path” Over Margaritas

While cruising my favorite online dating site I came upon a man whose profile said that he would “change my life forever.” Not the usual “six things I could never do without” or “favorite books, movies and cuisines” enumerated by most prospective cyber-suitors. Given my current state of flux, that sounded incredibly appealing!

I began our month-long correspondence with “Looking to change my life forever!” Why not lead with an optimistic line? Though it was, even with his promise, quite an expectation! We met for Mexican at Benny’s Burritos, and over chips and salsa and a couple of margaritas, Gandharva described his system of knowledge born out of the ancient Vedic traditions of Ayurveda and Yoga,” that he uses to interpret peoples’ “life blueprint.” And he provided me with one of his consultations. It was a mind-expanding combination of career counseling, relationship advice, health evalutation and more.

Over the past few months I’ve said to my friends, on many occasions, that I was feeling out of sorts, not myself, that “I don’t want to be that person anymore,” in reference to Abby the party girl, Abby the uber-social butterfly, Abby out every night and never a dull moment. I’ve been enjoying more quiet time spent one-on-one with close friends, intimate dinners or having a few people over to my apartment, less drunken bumbling and more sober conversations. Gandharva told me that was to be expected. Apparently this past February, one segment of my life – the social butterfly, center of attention, Abby as party girl 16-year-long segment – came to a close. And another, new segment began, one that craves quiet and solitude, spare surroundings and less “noise,” both literal, physical noise and psychic noise as well. I cannot tell you how relieved I was to hear this, however esoteric and otherworldly the source of the prognosis might be. Just having my general malaise – which I’d been experiencing as some sort of identity crisis – validated was an enormous relief.

Over the entire seven hours we spent together (yes, seven hours!), he explained the intricacies of my life blueprint. The optimal for me to be, geographically, to experience career success is the southwest. Hmm, perhaps one of those New Mexico mountain towns I’ve been fantasizing about? Regardless of where I am on the map, however, he said I would never be happy in any conventional situation. “It has to be weird in some way,” he explained. And even though that’s something I’ve known my whole life, it was nice to hear that validated as well! It wasn’t exactly the “What color is your parachute?” vocational advice your average person might seek. But I’ve never been your average person!

For my overall health, anywhere dry and less hot would be ideal. No wonder humidity makes me cry! He recommended holistic plant oils, “the Bach essences,” taken in extremely watered-down doses, that might assist my achieving balance. He gave me a mantra that would create the proper vibrations to attract positive career energy. And he provided me with my “life path” name, one with a resonance that might also facilitate better balance, more energy and, best case scenario, the realization of my life purpose.

There was a lot more information to take in and, by the end of the evening, I was exhausted. Gandharva turned out to be an intriguing combination of regular guy and woo-woo guru, New Age-y in a yogic sort of way, yet still able to enjoy the baser instincts – and by that I mean alcohol and meat; we didn’t explore beyond those senses! He did manage, in just one evening, to change my life, if only to set my mind at ease. I can’t wait to see how things have changed a few months from now!

If you’re interested in having Gandharva changing your life, visit his website!

Leave a Reply

