Halloween 2010

Halloween is my favorite day of the year but this year’s was gonna be an especially difficult one. Halloween is also my wedding anniversary. My divorce became final in September and, even though it was a long time coming, I’d been feeling sad about it. The fact that I spent last Halloween with my now-ex-boyfriend, dressed in awesome matching costumes, didn’t help. My general mood has been dark enough lately, so just getting through the night without weeping was my goal. I didn’t want to spend it alone. Thankfully, a friend rescued me from solitude!

My only concrete plans were to march in The Greenwich Village Halloween Parade. It was the 38th annual and probably my 20th. The parade’s theme was “Memento Mori” so many people were rockin’ the Dia de los Muertos look, but I did that last year (see above). I wanted to hang with the Kostume Kult krew and they were going with Voodoo Boogaloo for their float theme, so I thought I’d try a slightly different twist. I’d found an amazing black leather jacket with red skeleton bones at the St. Luke’s Thrift Shop (half off!) and I built my costume around that. Picked up red face make-up at Ricky’s, rhinestones at M&J Trimmings, a few feathers and some red felt; voila, my personal take on Baron Samedi. Oh. And some Sharpie’d embellishments.

There were a couple of interesting post-parade parties to choose from: Kostume Kult’s, a fetish fete and a 35th anniversary celebration of Rocky Horror, among others. I really just wanted to drink beers at Double Down. That wasn’t tough to achieve. We just took a cab from the end of the parade. The lovely Allison was bartending and a few friends joined us before heading off on their own spooky agendas. We opted for the fetish thing at the Delancey, since we were on the list. It wasn’t awful but really isn’t my scene anymore. After drinking enough beers to meet the minimum on my debit card, we walked back to Double Down and met up with a couple of clowns. I stumbled home alone and passed out on the couch with my makeup on. I don’t think I cried…

Leave a Reply

