Fostering a Dog!

I am working with Waggytail Rescue. On Friday I picked up Casanova. By 10pm he was sitting on my lap and all my friend’s laps! He’s already sleeping beside me and right now he’s hangin’ out with me on the couch watching football. He is super affectionate! I left him alone for a while his first night to let him get situated and he used the wee-wee pad right away! So far he’s used it to pee on every time except for when I’ve taken him out for walks! I must say I was pretty impressed!

He is still a little shy and gets nervous being left alone but that should definitely change over time once he realizes he has a home, either mine or yours! But today I took him out for almost the whole day. He was friendly to all the dogs we saw in the park and on the street and was also good with all the humans who reached to pet him. I can’t believe how quickly he’s acting like a “normal” dog! (This is the first time I’ve ever fostered a dog and I guess I was expecting him to be really crazy.) Everyone on the street was admiring him!

The pound said he weighs 12 pounds and that he’s a Chihuahua mix; I would
guess that mix was with a Whippet, making him a Chiwhippet! He is sleek and kinda bony, but only in his hind quarters, where Whippets are so slim. He has long legs that he’s not quite comfortable in yet, kind of like a gangly teenager!

He likes his chew toys, hasn’t attacked any of my belongings and likes his little bed I made of an old rug and an old towel. Though as I said, he prefers my bed when I’m in it!

I haven’t let him get too close to any little kids yet because he’s so new and I don’t want to take any changes right away but he didn’t bark at any kids — even the ones on skateboards! — or act weird around
them on the sidewalk. Also not sure how he would be with cats. The only possible drawback I can see is that he’s sort of shedding a lot but that could be due to stress. I’m sure it will get better as he becomes more comfortable. And he already enjoys being brushed.

If you think you might be interested in Casanova, email me or contact WaggytailRescue!

 

Leave a Reply

